A lot of people now on Instagram carefully curate their feeds by making sure the tones are all the same, you know for aesthetic purposes? And we can’t blame them, its total #feedgoals! By what if you have those embarrassing photos from way back, the ones that you uploaded before you decided which kind of Instagram feed you will keep?
Do you delete them and say goodbye forever to the photos, likes and comments? Not anymore, because now if Instagrammers want to hide a post that didn’t perform well, manicure the look of the top posts on their profile, banish posts featuring an ex lover, etc. you can use the new Instagram Archive Feature.
If you’re just like me, wondering how to temporarily delete photos from your Instagram. Then read on:
Do you notice that new option on the top right? Yes, that’s the archive button. Tap on it and you will be redirected to this section:
The archive feature moves posts to a separate section of the app. Once archived, your followers will no longer be able to see the post, though you can still view comments and likes from before the post was archived.
Now, let’s say I want to archive this particular post, I will need to tap on the 3 dots on the upper right hand and select Archive. This photo will no longer be in my feed but instead on the separate Archive section of Instagram.
The feature is currently still a test, but it looks like it’s starting to appear for more users. It’s not clear when Instagram will make the option to archive official.
“We’re always testing new ways to improve the Instagram experience,” an Instagram spokesperson said in a statement.
You can also opt to show it back to your profile if you change your mind by going to the archive section, tapping on the photo then on the 3 dots on the upper right. You will be given options, choose the first one: Show on profile. Ta-da, everything is back in order! While we’re at it, follow me on Instagram chelinumerable so we can stay connected!